For what feels like the fifty billionth time, but really it’s only been four, Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the the NASCAR NMPA Chex® Most Popular Driver award today at the NASCAR Myers Brothers Award Luncheon in New York City. (photo credit: Chris Trotman/Getty Images for NASCAR)

All I can say is doesn’t that trophy look like they’re playing Ring Around the Rosie? Instead of giving him some big bronze trophy that’ll take up space, why not just make a box of cereal with his photo on it? It could be a special commemorative box they can hawk in supermarkets all over the country. I’d buy it, which isn’t really saying much, but still.

It should be noted that Bay Area native Jeff Gordon came in second in the voting, followed by Kasey Kahne, Tony Stewart, Kevin Harvick, Michael Waltrip, Mark Martin, Matt Kenseth, 2006 NASCAR NEXTEL Cup champion Jimmie Johnson and Elliott Sadler.

In local news… Tickets go on sale tomorrow (Friday, December 1st) for the 2007 Big O Tires Racing Season at Infineon Raceway. Get online and buy tickets early for the NASCAR, NHRA, AMA, and IRL race weekends.